Southwest inaugurates Chicago O’Hare and Sarasota

Southwest inaugurates Chicago O'Hare and Sarasota

Southwest has launched Chicago O’Hare and Sarasota, the latter its 10th airport in Florida.

Southwest inaugurated two new airports on 14 February: Chicago O’Hare and Sarasota.

Southwest has 112 departures this week from O’Hare – 16 daily – to five destinations: Denver (35 weekly); Baltimore (28); Nashville (21); Dallas Love (21); and Phoenix (seven).

The carrier is the only airline to Dallas Love, with the rest having strong direct competition.

Southwest is second of four carriers to Denver; number-one of three to Baltimore; second of three to Nashville; and three of five to Phoenix.

Sarasota becomes Southwest’s 10th airport in Florida.  OAG shows that it has over 424,000 two-way seats in the seven months to August. 

It ranks eighth by seats so far this year, ahead of West Palm Beach and Pensacola.

Southwest will have eight routes from Sarasota when all have started, with many coming in mid-March.

Based on the week starting 22 March, it’ll have 67 weekly departures: Baltimore (21); Nashville (14); Chicago Midway (14); Atlanta (seven); Houston Hobby (seven); Indianapolis (two); Columbus (one); and Pittsburgh (one).

Southwest inaugurates Chicago O'Hare and Sarasota

Southwest has 112 departures from O’Hare this week and, come 22 March, it’ll have 67 from Sarasota.


Comments are closed